After so many hours on his table, discussing this Reiki thing and energy work in general, I kept going back to my handy-dandy mental scriptures checking in with what the Bible had to say about this sort of thing.  And yes it talks about being careful, discerning spirits, etc.  But I kept diligently asking questions, pondering, and bouncing it around in prayer.  And it finally came to me one morning.  I don’t even remember, now, which translation this Bible was, but it was the scripture about the woman with the issue of blood in the Gospels.  She sought out Jesus in a crowd of thousands.  She had been bleeding for years and years.  The Bible specifically states that she had spent all her money on doctors, but instead of getting better, she got worse.  Read that again.  Seriously?  Have things really changed that much since Biblical times?  In some ways, yes … but some things never change!

Anyway, she elbowed and pushed her way up to Jesus and touched the hem of his garment.  What Jesus experienced, at that point, is the interesting part.  He was being jostled, pushed, crowded in this throng of people.  The moment that woman touched only His clothing, He stopped and asked who touched Him.  His disciples thought He had to be nuts … I mean, who wasn’t touching Him in that large crowd?  But He said, and it depends on the translation, but most translations say, “I felt power leave Me.”  The one I read that morning said, “I felt energy leave Me.” Honest to God.  I read it over and over again.  That was my confirmation.  In my opinion, Jesus was the ultimate energy healer.  He could focus energy and manipulate it and He taught others to do the same.  Not that I’m belittling His Godness (don’t get your hackles up, Christians).  I’m just saying that He set that precedent … and He said we would do greater things than that.  I didn’t explain this to preach to you.  I explained it so you would know my process in stepping into what was appearing on the path before me.  Was this a pile of something I didn’t want to step in or should I just walk on in confidence? It was at this point that I decided to go for it.  So he started practicing Reiki on me.

Reiki is a very balancing energy.  It is not focused.  It is not intense.  The practitioner is just the vessel for the energy to go through.  So, in my mind, I would envision Jesus’ hands on Louis’ shoulders and that was the energy coming into me through Louis.

English: A Reiki symbolFrom here, the energy knows where to go and where it’s needed, so there should be no ego involved in the process.  It’s not about the practitioner.  It’s just about being a willing vessel.  Now scientist friends of mine are laughing right now.  But I don’t really care because I know what I have experienced, even though I can neither explain its mechanism of action nor can I quantify it.  Also, my mind-body connection isn’t the best (something I’m currently working on) so I typically don’t feel energy in my body when I’m being worked on.  But boy, do I know a ton of people who can.  Most, in fact.  They feel a tingling or a heat.  Energy manifests that way.  I don’t feel that so I have to rely heavily on my intuition when choosing an energy worker.

After quite some time of this, Louis offered to teach, or “attune” me to Reiki.  We had a little class:  Louis, his wife, and I.  He attuned me to Level 2, one step shy of Master, before we had to move away from there.  But I have practiced on my family and they have all experienced relief from whatever is ailing them, despite the fact that I can’t feel it.  They feel heat or tingling … and many times it’s in a place different from where my hands are.

So it works with, or without, my knowledge, with or without my ego.  I can let go and let God work however He wants to in the individual.  This was my first foray into the wonderful world of energy … and it was just the beginning.

Leave a Reply

