All the pretty Pappies

Posted: February 19, 2012 in Breast Cancer

So this weekend, we have friends visiting. One old friend; one new.  Rick Mills used to be our church’s youth pastor when our daughter was a teenager and he and his family lived east of the city like we did and they had horses as well.  So that made for a quick, and what was to become a very lasting, friendship.

The first time we went to their house for dinner, my whole life changed.  I knew his wife, Cathy, was a dog breeder, but I had never heard of these dogs … these Papillons.  She brought me this tiny black and white bundle of fur that looked, for all the world, like a Gremlin. She was adorable and smart and her name was Shasta.  She just happened to need a pet home and a promise to spay … badda bing, badda boom, it was done.  And my life would never be the same.

I was enamored, entranced, twitter-pated with this creature.  I had had dogs before, but none like this girl.  She may as well have handed me a crack pipe instead of a dog.  We exchanged dog-sitting duties, vacationed together, and generally just laughed our butts off.  But all too soon, the Mills moved away to Alabama … but I had three of those Paps before they did!

Lunch with Rick & Susan

A few years ago, Cathy passed away from a previously undiagnosed cancer, in a very short time.  I was there with her and her family and, when I returned home, I had one of the last of Cathy’s  Paps in tow … Bubbles.  She was the last and, because of how she came to us, one of the most special.

Rick now has a wonderful new lady in his life and they came to visit us this weekend with their two Paps.  We had lunch, spent the afternoon at a dog park with the girl dogs, then came back to the house to hang out.  A wonderful afternoon, spent with wonderful friends, and full of laughter.  Just doesn’t get much better than that!

Comments
  1. Rick says:

    We’ve been through a lot together… and still marchin’ on!

    Sometimes I think the dogs help us to keep going too… what’s more fun than four Paps? Adding two more to the mix!

    I’m so proud of you and Morgan, and your will to survive ALL of the odds! I love you guys and so glad I have you in my life.

  2. lynne says:

    Thank you for the story and the wonderful, moving pix about your friends and furr friends. Angels seem to be sent to us at the right time. I’ve never met anyone with a Pap but my friend is pining to get one–tho she thinks she’s too old. Someone poisoned her Irish Setter many years ago and she doesn’t want to get her heart broken again.

    Our furry girl was our crack pipe too for 16 years. She’s still our obsession even tho she has gone to the dog park in the sky. We can’t stop talking about her after all these years. What a wonderful connection to the universe. I don’t know how anyone can live a life without dogs.

    • Oh Lynne, that’s the one problem with a dog … they just don’t live long enough. I swear, I’m soconnected to mine someone’s gonna have to put me in a strait jacket when she goes … I honestly can’t decide which one of us I want to go first. It’s just that bad. Jeez … the feelings we get for these fur angels!

  3. Carol says:

    Enjoyed the sweet story of your Paps. My niece had 2….Fred & Lola. Fred died a couple of months ago of cancer. He had chemo but it was in his spine, too far gone & he couldn’t walk anymore…he went fairly fast despite a lolt of TLC. He was a black & white. Lola is very tiny, just a little puffball & is brown & white. They are an adorable breed.

    I have a rescue dog that has been velcroed to me since my cancer diagnosis….she is a German Pinscher with some Border Collie…smart as a whip & very affectionate, loyal & a clown at times. Can’t imagine going through this without her!

    • Oh poor baby! How was that chemo for the dog? Did the dog get sick from it? I’ve always wondered if chemo affects them the way it does us. I am quite biased and enamored of them … and oh my, a German Pinscher Border Collie? I considered getting Border Collies cuz I love dog agility and they are sooo incredible at it. On the other hand, I didn’t want a dog that was smarter than me! LOL

Leave a Reply

