Maybe … just maybe

Posted: March 13, 2012 in Breast Cancer

Yesterday, John and I got to talk to the therapist on staff here. I didn’t want to at first because I didn’t want him to recommend they stop treating me. But that’s not what happened at all. He totally heard us. We were in there for close to two hours and told him everything. He said this clinic used to have such awesome patient care but with the loss of their pharmacologist, it really left a void. Seems that the clinic director somehow still thinks that level of patient care is still happening. According to the therapist, he hears the things we were saying quite a bit, even though the director swears I’m the only one having such feelings.

Guess no one else has the guts to say it. One thing about me, I won’t lie to you. If you ask me a question, I’m going to answer it honestly. Period. So he was going to have a little chat with the director to bust his delusional bubble. Despite what people keep telling me about wasting my time trying to change the place, changes are, indeed, happening. There is a screen to change behind in the exam room now. The nurses are coming in and checking way more often. Some of the gals from the front are coming back to help out. Nurses are getting friendlier. So maybe I can’t change it totally, but hey, a little goes a long way!

I also got my labs back today. After the first treatment week, my tumor marker (the protein in the blood from breast cancer) went up by 13 points. After the second week, it went up by 7 points. Still a rise, but less of a rise. This week, after the third treatment week, it still went up. But this time, only by 1 point. And both my liver enzymes dropped by 10 points since last week. Sooooo, the clinic director said the numbers will typically rise the first few weeks from die-off … and then we hope to see the numbers start to drop. Didn’t drop, but only rose by 1/13th of the amount they rose two weeks ago. Keeping my fingers crossed … sigh.

This pic was taken over the weekend when we found a lovely farmers’ market in Marietta and couldn’t resist a pic under this sign (not part of the market), since the only nick I’ve ever had is Lizzard … should’ve grabbed a big lollipop from inside for the pic, but figured I’d never hear the end of that … down here treating cancer, eating pure sugar! Yikesssssssss!

20120313-215009.jpg

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    Lesson being . . . being surrounded by zeros
    is a BIOTCH!

    I feel the same insanity ALL the time – we
    are a dying breed. Humanity has its work
    cut out for it by continually shi*ing on
    people that care!

    Well – GREAT job Melissa / albeit tiring!
    Maybe you can wear your shit kicker boots
    to that place from now on. 🙂

  2. geniegal says:

    Thank You Melissa for all you are doing.. not only for yourself, but for all of us!!!

  3. Carol says:

    GREAT work, Melissa! Your descriptions are right on target and fun to read. The good energy you are putting out is working! And…..blood markers are definitely going in the right direction. I think you are totally on the right track and making lemonade out of lemons where needed. Thank goodness the basic treatment is intact and doing its job! Keep the encouraging and lively updates coming. Good job! Love, Carol

Leave a Reply

