At long last …

Posted: August 7, 2012 in Breast Cancer
Tags: , , , ,

So things are finally starting to get better!!! As I mentioned, I got six liters of fluid drained off nearly two weeks ago and was so afraid it would come right back. Well, it has not. Admittedly, I am not at home right now, where I can take my measurements, so it’s possible it some has trickled back in, but I don’t feel like it has. I feel like a whole different person now. I am able to go for walks, though I am way too out of shape to hike. I no longer have reflux. Though I still cannot eat enough to survive, I am eating about twice what I was. We won’t discuss what all happens to a woman from the waist down, when she has that much pressure in her belly, but suffice it to say it also took care of more than just frequent urges. And OMG, my legs are so tiny without fluid in them …. bony, as a matter of fact … and they were starting to look pretty thick there for a minute.

More good news is that I am currently camping … spending time in my beloved forest like I could not even manage mere weeks ago. I couldn’t even get in and out of the camper. But that is all different now. With the exception of the fact that I still need IV nutrition, I feel pretty damn normal. Downright cancer-free! I am so grateful!

And the very best news of all is that, in the past three weeks, my CA27-29, the breast cancer marker, has dropped by 82 points and my CEA has dropped by 16 (the max normal range for this marker is only 3.5 so a 16-pt drop is pretty darn huge). So things are definitely moving in the right direction! This is the third time this has happened to me … the third freakin time! I keep spiraling downward, bed-ridden, for months … and then I do something (chemo or hormonals or energy work) and I get almost to remission before things start progressing again. This process can take a few months to a few years. I got a few months last year. I am hoping for something a bit longer-lasting this time.

I am so tickled that Friday, when I see my oncologist, who swore this fluid would come right back, I can tell him I was drained two weeks ago. It is at this point I would smile sweetly and bat my eyelashes at him … all 5-10 that I have left … because he keeps making these absolute statements with me. But dang, after working with me for three years now, you would think he would remember that my body rebels at absolutes and does everything in its power to prove them wrong. I don’t really know what all is going on with me, but I know no one can possibly predict what this thing will do and when. One of these times, it will be the last time. But not this time!

20120807-153623.jpg

20120807-153725.jpg

Comments
  1. Kylie says:

    Hooray!! So glad you moving in a positive direction…may it continue!! xx

  2. Gary Ryan says:

    Melissa, I am away on business at present, and have just woken up to your blogg. The first thing I did was praise the Lord. I am so happy for you.This has been such a huge turn around. XX00

  3. Wendy says:

    So happy to hear your good news and see you in the forest with your pups! Wishing you a long and joyful break and recovery!

    Also wanted to tell you, I appreciate you turning me on to Progressive in Atlanta! Keeping IPT for when I need it, so far so good.
    Love,
    Wendy

  4. Cindy says:

    Oh, that is such fantastic news! I am so glad you are able to go camping. All the family is in Steamboat right now camping and I couldn’t get off work, so just hanging out with the horses taking care of everything here. I hope and pray you continue to improve. I am off Fri. Will you be in town for your appointment? Maybe we could meet somewhere….love to see you.
    Blessings,
    Cindy
    .

  5. Elizabeth and Soonil says:

    So so sooooo happy to hear that things finally took a positive turn for you.

    Huge sigh of relief.

    (Perhaps Kris Kraft / energy healing worked some magic, again?

    Prayers for long lasting recovery and healing.

    Elizabeth and Soonil

  6. Meg Patterson says:

    Oh Melissa, I am SO happy for you! And being outdoors in nature has got to be the most perfect thing after all you’ve been though. Cherish it all. Sending love from Oregon. – Meg

  7. Betty says:

    Hi Melissa,
    It’s txcyclegal from FTF Pinkie Board. Doing the Happy Dance for you! Well, very slowly, seeing as I’m riding the cancer rollercoaster again. Hope you continue to feel good and that you soak up every minute of your camping time!
    Gentle hugs,
    Betty

  8. Tim Dravis says:

    You are an amazing woman. Remember when I said I almost feel sorry for the cancer. (Not really). Keeping fighting. Be strong and live long. We continue to pray for complete healing.

  9. Denise Barnes says:

    I am SOOOOO grateful to hear this!! I am praying and believing or many many more days like this. I am so glad to hear this! ((HUGE HUGS))!! PTL!!! XOXO Denise

  10. nan says:

    Such wonderful news. I am sure you are a great inspiration to all the other women battling this beast. I will continue to keep you in my prayers, and pray that you will continue to feel better and hopefully find yourself completely healed.

  11. Debbie Wokurka says:

    Good to hear you are able to get and about and enjoy some of the beauty there near you. Enjoy it

Leave a Reply

