Help me I think I’m falling …

Posted: August 26, 2012 in Breast Cancer, Spiritual/Emotional/Energetic

A little Joni Mitchell blast from the past anyone?  Yesterday when I went to see Gunner, it was time to put him on the cross ties in the wash rack and desensitize him to water and sprays.  Yeah, he was pretty sure it was gonna eat him alive at first.  But by the time he was dripping all over, head and all, that spray bottle was nothing!  Then I put him back in his corral and sat there with him, armed with grain and this time some cookies.  He was at the end of his run when I sat down and when he heard the bucket rattle, over he came.  I first tried to give him a cookie and he was unsure.  But they are anise -flavored and his nose got the better of him.  Once he bit into one, it was all over!  He is now a dedicated cookie fiend!  The other day, when I offered the grain bucket, he was very gingerly putting his nose in there, always on the ready to yank it out and move away quickly.  But yesterday was different.  He wasn’t the least bit uncomfortable.  He plunged that nose into the bucket so hard I had to hold it between my knees to not drop it.  And oh, what a snuggler he is.  He is waaay more affectionate than my other horse and the precious thing is, he is just discovering it.  He is only 6 years old and has only been in Colorado for a couple of years.  During that time, he was used on the trail, but not one of the owners’ personal mounts, so he just wasn’t scratched, cuddled with, or made to feel loved … he has never been somebody’s pet.  But he is really latching on to that idea!

Even after the cookies and the grain were all gone, he just stood there with me.  Or if I moved, he followed me.  And he just stood there while I gently rubbed his head all over, scratching in front of, and behind, his ears.  My Patch pony would’ve moved on once he realized there were no more cookies.  Not so with Gunner.  I think he is a total people-horse, but just hasn’t had a person with whom to connect!  Now he does!  Today we begin Parelli’s Seven Games.  He is so energetically sensitive … and I have taken one horse through that already so I know how to do it … so it shouldn’t take much.  Once we complete the games on the ground, it will be time to mount up.  Not sure when that might be but when the time is right, we will both know it and it will be wonderful!

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    Wow! What a terrific story and that u are
    doing SO great now. Horseback riding
    takes strength and stamina. And, you
    are doing it!

    Wow –

    Kim

    • Wellllllllll not so fast. No one said I was climbing up on him and hitting the trail just yet. ;). I am doing a lot of sitting and hanging out with him. That doesn’t take much … But it still takes more than I had a couple of months ago. ;). I think Gunner and I are going to heal each other.

  2. Carole Berlin says:

    Oh, Melissa!

    You sound so grounded, so happy, so falling in love — I hope your husband doesn’t start getting jealous [grin].

    You keep on breathin’ and between you and that horse, your health might decide it needs to come back full force. Animal magic IS magic.

    Hugs and love, cb Carole Berlin http://health.groups.yahoo.com/group/bcstudyandsupport/

    • Hey a little jealousy is healthy. ;). I agree … Animals can be such an incredible part of our healing journey if we have a heart for them. My dogs … And now my new horse … Are all a part of it.

  3. nan says:

    Melissa
    I am so happy for you. May God bless you and keep you well to enjoy your new friend, Gunner.
    Hope you will be hitting the trail soon!! 🙂

  4. slythy says:

    Oh Melissa, what a heart warming story. You and Gunner seem to have become soulmates. I wish I could be there. Maybe somebody could video you too courting each other. Give him an apple for me. 🙂
    Lynne

Leave a Reply

