On to the next …

Posted: January 27, 2013 in Breast Cancer

Well I saw my onco again after a week on no drugs at all.  My CEA has jumped from 70+ to 1117 and my CA 27-29 from 382+ to 666.8!  In one freaking week!  So it is on to treatment with no delay.  I start Aromasin (a steroidal aromatase inhibitor) as soon as my hubby gets home with it.  And I get a port put in to Wednesday and start Navelbine chemo Thursday, see the onc again Friday.

Alongside all this mess, my girlfriend from Seattle arrives Monday and will be here for all of it.  Some vacay for her.  😦  She’ll be sitting by my bedside, sitting in dr appts, and sitting at chemo, poor girl!  And she thinks she’s gonna get her taxes done while here.  Suuuuuuure you are!

Oh, and did I mention the MRI I have to schedule for my brain cuz I have had headaches for the past week or so every day and I am not a headachy person.  So they’re gonna rule out brain mets.

Have you noticed my cycle yet?  I tend to go down the hole about this time of year and the spend the spring/summer trying to dig myself out.  Let’s just hope I don’t have to dig too hard.  I went out to see Gunny today and I had no energy, much less balance.  I really feel like I’m losing ground.  Before, I could walk him down to the arena and work with him.  I don’t know if I can do that now.

So anyway, that is it for me for now.  Please keep me in prayer and positive energy for Wednesday and Thursday for the most part.  I have Kurt Peterson working on me 4 nights a week remotely, and Kris Kraft due to come back and work on me Feb 18.  Fingers crossed, as always!

 

Comments
  1. Penny Guinther says:

    I’ll send good vibes your way. Love you!

  2. Brigitte the Swiss Miss says:

    ohhh Big Girl, sad news on one hand, but good news on the other: the drugs work! So our fingers over here in Switzerland are crossed and we send you tons of healing power too… Love you Brigitte

  3. Dianne says:

    Hi Melissa, I continue to follow your posts and pray for you. I have walked this path with my husband for 3 &1/2 years, so I have a pretty good idea what you are going through. It can be pretty scary at times. How is your husband holding up? I see from his perspective too, because that’s where I was. Because my husband’s care was so intensive on my part, I became more of a caregiver than a wife,. I loved him to pieces, but sometimes the compassion just wasn’t there. I regret that now, but probably would be the same now. I was physically tired to the point of exhaustion almost daily. I know that without the Lord’s help, I would never have been able to do it all.
    At the risk of sounding like I’m preaching (well ,I guess I am), I need to tell you to lean hard on the Lord!! I don’t know what you believe in, but I have found the Bible and God’s promises to be the only and ultimate source of hope in my previous role and the one I’m facing now. Living life without my husband has been my fear for many years and now I’m living it, only by God’s grace!! I know alot of people give pious suggestions,but as my hubby reminded me many times, this life is not the REAL thing. He knew this much better than I did. He would frequently remind me that God is in control no matter what happens. I have faith ,but he had more and it gave him the peace to endure all the deficits he faced.(and they were many!!!)
    I am so glad that you can still write and express yourself on the computer. That is a blessing and something that he couldn’t do for a very long time. One thing you have going for you is the care and concern of your family and friends. We had an unbelievable support system and I am still seeing the benefits. If you would send me your address, I have a devotional that I’d like to send to you. It helped me get through my husband’s initial brain sugery in May of 2009 and we read it together twice since then. I will continue to pray for your complete healing and the strength to get through whatever the Lord has planned. His plan s are not always ours, but he hears and answers. I wanted to see my husband healed here on this earth and spend my growing old years with him right by my side!! God had a different plan and although I don’t understand now, I know that someday I will. Now it seems unfair to me, but for my hubby, it was the best. Now he is healed and enjoying heaven in a perfect body. Don’t get me wrong, I am still sad, miss him and cry , but wnen I really think about the life he was living here, I am glad he no longer has to endure this imperfect world.
    I know people who have had their healing happen here too, so never give up that hope. Life is always worth fighting for!! Do all you possibly can to help with your healing and comfort and continue hoping and praying. Just keep in mind that ultimately we are not in control, God is ! You will not die one minute before his appointed time. I hope I have not offended you, as I don’t really know you or where you are with spiritual things. I mean this to encourage you and I hope that you will take it that way. It’s hard to express this stuff by writting, but I tried. Don’t know if you remember, But I think I first met you on the cancercured site and I was looking to find hemp oil for my husband. You were so faithful to try and help me and I really appreciated that!! God Bless! I’ll wait to hear from you. My e-mail is jrdegnan@juno.com Love, Dianne

  4. Dr. McGann says:

    I am certain your friend’s presence will give you continued inner strength! It must be a joy to have someone there with you! (even if she tries to do her taxes;-) You are in my prayers! Sending positive thoughts and God’s healing power your way! Many Blessings.

  5. Debbie Wokurka says:

    well Melissa you keep on keeping on, but sure it gets old. you are in my prayers girl, hope you are able to enjoy time with your friend.

  6. Denise Barnes says:

    You are correct about completing my taxes while I was there BUT….I did get some of it done LOL.

    I enjoyed my time with you Melissa! You are my big sis and I love you dearly. I even got to see Rika!! What a blessing. I wish I could be there now to bring you any joy, laughter and smiles that I could. I cherish the time we spent together. Be at peace my friend.

    Love you!!
    ~Denise

Leave a Reply

